Membership Selection Process

Membership of the Hamilton County Regional Health Council consists of 27 voting members. Each of the eleven members of the Hamilton County Board of Commissioners may appoint one (1) voting member to the Council. The Hamilton County Mayor may appoint sixteen (16) at-large members. Each appointment must be approved by the Hamilton County Board of Commissioners.


Term of Office

The usual term of office for Council members is 4 years.  Council members may be re-appointed to serve additional terms upon the recommendation of their appointing authority. 


Approach to Governance

Council members serve and conduct business with a commitment to democracy and respect, not only for each other and what each member brings to the organization, but also being consistently and reverently supportive of our government, our neighborhoods, and families, with an intent to improve the health and well-being of all.


Shared Values and Beliefs of Members

  • Spiritual Well-being
  • Strong Families & Neighborhoods                      
  • Economic Diversity
  • Cultural Diversity and Inclusiveness
  • Emotional/Physical Well-being      
  • Educational Opportunities & Achievement
  • Safe & Healthy Environment with Supportive Institutions


Regional Health Council Members (In Alphabetical Order)

Erika Ballard, Registered Nurse, Delegate for Precinct, Hamilton County GOP Convention & Election of Officers

Byron Bartley, Retired

Jamie Bergmann, Retired from United Way

Rae Bond, Chattanooga Hamilton County Medical Society and Medical Foundation of Chattanooga

Jessica Cliche, Director of Community Education and Engagement, La Paz Chattanooga

Rachel Cromer, PharmD, Pharmacist in Charge, Hamilton County Employee Clinic, On-Site Rx Inc

Marvin Hall, MD, Pediatric Intensive Care Specialist, Children’s Hospital at Erlanger

Don Howe, Businessman and Physical Therapist (retired)

Cathy Jennings, Hamilton County Department of Education

Derek Kukura, Soddy Daisy Community Advocate

Rebecca Martin, MD, PhD, Physician Consultant, TN Department of Health

Stephen E. Meyer, MSc, P.E., Regional Health Council Vice Chairperson, Meyer Transportation Consultants, Inc.

Skyler Phillips, Training Captain, CFD Connect Coordinator, Chattanooga Fire Department

Michele Pickett, MD, Founding Physician, Exec. Dir. and Pediatrician, LifeSpring Community Health

LaDarius Price, Deputy Director for Economic and Community Development, Hamilton County Government

Sean Richards, PhD, Regional Health Council Chairperson, UC Foundation Professor, Biological and Environmental Sciences, University of TN at Chattanooga

Manuel Rico, Former City Councilman/ Businessman

David Roddy, Chief Operating Officer, Hamilton County Mayor’s Office

Vonnie Stone, Erlanger Community Health Centers

Richard Tobey, Paramedic, Hamilton County EMS

Terry Topping, CPD Narcotics Detective, Chattanooga Police Department

Bill Ulmer, MPH, MA, Retired Health Department, Community Health Director; Current Adjunct Instructor, UTC

Amanda Wagner, Community Advocate

Anthony Watkins, Executive Director, Hope for the Inner City 

Tracy L. Wood, President and CEO, Journey Health Foundation

Ex-Officio Members

Stephen Miller, MD, Health Officer, Hamilton County Health Department

Sabrina Novak, Administrator, Hamilton County Health Department

Commissioner David Sharpe, Chairman of the Hamilton County Board of Commissioners’ Committee on Health, Human Services, Personnel, Arts, Recreation and Public Relations

Mayor Weston Wamp, Hamilton County Mayor